Functional Threshhold HR as % of max HR

Nellyspania
Nellyspania Posts: 71
Hi all, I've been cycling for many years but recently became more interested in HR and got a HR monitor.
I did a 30min threshold HR test at the weekend as per https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/zuvvi/media/bc_files/sportivetrainingplans/THRESHOLD_TEST.pdf and basically got a nice flat line average of 180 BPM for the test.
The only issue is that the zones that the calculator provides gives the start of zone 5 (VO2 max) for me as 189.
The only thing is that is 1BPM from the absolute maximum HR I can achieve on the bike.
Is it unusual to see FTHR at 95% of maximum HR; and for VO2 intervals should I be aiming instead at top end of zone 4?
Cheers

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    If you can manage 180 for 30 mins I'd suggest you should be able to hit 189 during a paced 4 minute flat out effort.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • BeaconRuth
    BeaconRuth Posts: 2,086
    What you're discovering is that trying to measure a 'functional threshold HR' and trying to use it to set training zones is pretty much a waste of time.

If you did a 30-minute effort at a constant power in the region of your function threshold power then your HR would gradually rise throughout the effort. So trying to measure a functional threshold HR and use it for anything is fairly pointless.

For VO2max intervals aim to do the hardest, constant-power effort you can for the duration of the interval. If you can't measure power then use speed or perceived effort to judge as even an effort as you can.

Ruth
  • Dave_P1
    Dave_P1 Posts: 565
    I don't see the point of doing these tests with a HR monitor, as you could test yourself today and then test yourself again in 6 months and chances are your HR for each test will be the same.