Grimpée Cycliste Morzine

larkim
larkim Posts: 2,474
Anyone done this? Thinking about taking part as I'm in Les gets over that weekend, but I'm by no means a proficient roadie. I can average 18mph on an undulating route covering 25-30 miles though. Will 860m of climbing over 15k in the Alps kill me?

(Going by the pictures on the website, I ought to be fine though!)

https://www.morznet.com/events/morzine- ... imb-683317
2015 Canyon Nerve AL 6.0 (son #1's)
2011 Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc (son #4s)
2013 Decathlon Triban 3 (red) (mine)
2019 Hoy Bonaly 26" Disc (son #2s)
2018 Voodoo Bizango (mine)
2018 Voodoo Maji (wife's)

Comments

• Dorset_Boy
    Dorset_Boy Posts: 6,877
    Go for it.
    Have you ridden in the Alps before? It's all about finding your own pace & rythym.
    Assuming it goes up the main road and not the Lac Montriond / Lindarets route, then it's not a hard climb, but disconcertingly the hairpins flatten out rather than being steeper than the linking inclines.
    Hope it's warmer and dryer at the top than when i rode it on 13th July - 3 degrees at the top and it snowed there that night!
  • larkim
    Cheers, seems a fun thing to have a go at whilst on holiday with the kids.

No, I've not ridden in the Alps before, but I have tried to go for a run there (at 2300m) and got about 200m before I ran out of oxygen! Hopefully with a week of acclimatisation and slightly less altitude I can minimise that aspect at least. Worst comes to the worst and I can take a few breaks on the way up.

I was also thinking of riding down from Les Gets effectively this year's TDF route and then up Joue Plan but think that might be over-estimating my ability and desire to hurt!
  • davidof
    davidof Posts: 3,032
    larkim wrote: