Am I ready for my first race

MozBiker
MozBiker Posts: 77
edited August 2016 in Amateur race
Hello everyone

This is my first post so please be patient while I get used to the forum and everything. A bit about me. I am 17, weigh 73kg, 184 cm. I started road cycling in January. Before I had done a bit of mountain biking and road cycling with my mountain bike.

So up till February I was just spinning around nothing serious. 50km max. So in March I started riding with a small group and a big group respectively. The big group rides were 12 min intervals at around 38kmph and I could keep pace. Everyone in my group got dropped except myself and another rider. This on a hill(part of the interval). So I have done a lot of group rides and am steady and confident in a group at high speeds.

So the question is am I ready to race yet? I am aiming for a race on 22nd October. I am following a training plan along with one of my riding partners(he has been cycling for many years including podium finishes and various KOM classifications). So I am training under his guidance. I have done a 101km ride at 32,9kmph(in June) with the mentioned friend and then a few weeks later a 112km solo ride at 28,7kmph.

I have done a 20 min FTP test and my FTP is around 260watts so this equates to about 3.56 watts/kg. I love riding fast and am a strong sprinter(I win about 90% of sprints against my mates). I have also done some reasonable climbing before and I include hill training in my training plan. My biggest climb is 370m. This was done from an altitude of 1641m up to 2011m. This climb was 12km long.

So with still 10 weeks left to train will I be ready to race? It is a 90km with around 40-50 riders. Biggest climb is 260m with a max gradient of 5-6%. Other than that the course is quite flat with a few small hills. It finishes with a 3km descent of -3%.

Would love to hear your thoughts, ideas, advice and criticism.

Thanks a lot!
MozBiker

Comments

• maryka
    maryka Posts: 748