should i change my cassette or get compact chainrings?

saladrider
saladrider Posts: 16
edited August 2016 in Road beginners
Hey guys, Im quite new to road cycling. I have been cycling for a couple of months now and I just recently climbed a pretty steep long hill. I was able to climb it by grinding it, but I was pretty exhausted when I reached the top. Im using an entry level groupset (Microshift r8) 8 speed . Standard chainrings and an 11-23T cassette. Im thinking if I should just get an 11-28T so that I can spin. Or do you think getting compact cranks would suffice.

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Well a 28t sprocket would definitely be easier than a 23t. You might need to fit a longer chain.

What cranks / chainrings do you have at the moment?
  • shmooster
    shmooster Posts: 335
    Standard chainring normally means 53-39. Changing the chainrings would likely allow using the same chain, but cassettes and chains wear out more quickly and might be cheaper. If the OP isn't worried about spinning out on descents a compact might be the best option, as long as the front derailleur is compatible (hard to believe it wouldn't be but best check).
  • shmooster wrote:
    Standard chainring normally means 53-39. Changing the chainrings would likely allow using the same chain, but cassettes and chains wear out more quickly and might be cheaper. If the OP isn't worried about spinning out on descents a compact might be the best option, as long as the front derailleur is compatible (hard to believe it wouldn't be but best check).

Right now I have 53-39 on it. I figured I just have to lower the position of the FD right if I was to swap to compact right? I have little knowledge right now but I really love riding my bike! :D
  • keef66 wrote:
    Well a 28t sprocket would definitely be easier than a 23t. You might need to fit a longer chain.

What cranks / chainrings do you have at the moment?