SR Suntour XCT lockout lever issue

dhananjay151293
dhananjay151293 Posts: 5
edited August 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello everyone,

I am new to the mountain biking scene. So, I brought a FireFox Maximus D 29er which is equipped with Suntour XCT fork.

The problem is that the lockout lever (switch/knob) is creating some issues. Pretty sure I didn't do a thing, since I ride only on unlocked fork. My guess is that my younger brother switched the lever to lockout, and I might have rode it then on a rough path. Anyways, the lever now seems to be spinning endlessly, in either direction. The point is, after a few clicks to either side (lock or open), it would do the job (lock/unlock). So, it is working as is, but does require a few clicks.

I took the bike to the shop, and they asked me to leave the bike with them for a week or so, and they will get it fixed. A week without the bike is definitely concerning me. So, is there something that I could do myself to resolve this?

Regards
Dhananjay

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Sounds like it's loose - is there a bolt holding it on?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad wrote:
    Sounds like it's loose - is there a bolt holding it on?
    Which bolt exactly? On the lowers, near the bottom bracket?
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    No a little grub screw on the lever.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • cooldad wrote:
    No a little grub screw on the lever.
    Yeah, I pulled off the adjuster (lever), tried with an allen key, and it just spins endlessly. However, after 6-10 complete spins, it does lockout. Same way, spinning it back those turns, unlocks it.

Please help.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812