What Bike Maintenance should I be doing?

Gouldy-89
Gouldy-89 Posts: 49
edited August 2016 in Road beginners
Hi,

I am new to the scene and was just wondering what sort of bike maintenance should be done weekly, monthly, yearly, etc. I am reasonably hands on (built a £300 bike a few years back) but not sure what I need to be doing to ensure the bike stays "healthy" beyond keeping the chain, crank, etc oiled and the tyres at the right pressure.
Will probably be doing 100miles or so a week.

Thanks

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Pretty much the stuff you mentioned, along with whatever else is needed as and when.
  • Gouldy-89
    Gouldy-89 Posts: 49
    I am not really sure what the "whatever else is needed as and when" is?
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Well it's difficult to be any more specific than that, without being able to predict the future. Basically, regular maintenance will be limited to chain, transmission and tyre pressures. At the end of the day, these are bicycles, not stealth fighters.
  • Make sure your drivetrain's clean, not just oiled. It's the road crap that gathers in the oil that accelerates wear.

Keep an eye on tyre condition, brake blocks, cables. Wheel & headset bearings might need occasional adjustment so check for play from time to time.

The easiest way to stay on top of maintenance is to keep your bike clean - you'll tend to notice any issues & remember to do routine stuff. And your bike will be shiny, which will obviously make it faster. :D
  • grenw
    grenw Posts: 803
    That's what I do regularly - drivetrain and tyres.

Less regularly I check chain wear, brake blocks, headset bolts - a 2 minute job.

The rest is just what I feel and hear on the bike - headset, BB etc. and do nothing until I think I have a problem
  • Jerry185
    Jerry185 Posts: 143