Looking to buy a downhill mountain bike...

odavison1
odavison1 Posts: 8
edited July 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi there,

A recent holiday, ignited a new founded passion for downhill mountain biking, being a student i have a very limited budget but i am still willing to fork out a bit for a fairly good quality downhill bike beginner friendly but also capable of conquering the hardest of downhill trails. Maximum price probably about £1000. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Assuming you mean Downhill and not riding down hills, I doubt you'll find a decent DH bike for your budget. I'm also not sure what a beginner friendly DH bike is.
    You'd be looking second hand, so I'll leave it to some of our more gnarly members to respond.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    There's loads of choice second hand at your budget.
    Downhill bikes depreciate pretty badly these days!
    I recently sold a pretty high spec Nukeproof Scalp for £1100 something like that would be ideal.
    There's no such thing as a beginner downhill bike, it's not really a sport for beginners.
    Look for something up to five years old. Go for a bike with Rockshox BoXXer forks, they're dead reliable and simple to service. Avoid Avid brakes and Fox Van shocks and avoid anything covered in monster energy or redbull sticker or anything which has been resprayed.
    Get yourself some decent armour as well and even with that, accept that you WILL get some pretty serious injuries. I've had various broken bones, tissue damage and internal injuries and I've come off lightly compared to some riders.
  • Stevo_666
    Stevo_666 Posts: 58,480
    As mentioned above, you won't get anything new for a grand but second hand there should be plenty of choice.