Lose 20 lbs

vlaanderen
vlaanderen Posts: 8
edited August 2016 in Training, fitness and health
Hi!

I'm an Italian cyclist (so, sorry if my English isn't perfect! :mrgreen: ) and I'm 23. I had been a cyclist since 2005 to 2012 then I gave up for 4 years. I started again last May and I'm preparing for the next season (as an amateur, in Granfondos). I've already cycled for 2400 miles in 8 weeks (with a lot of climbs).

The problem is: I'm 6'2 and I weigh 178 lbs (two months ago I was 186). During my last season (2012) I was in the range 155-160 and I was really good as a climber (currently I struggle every time the slope is over 6% :shock: even if my ability on flat terrains has improved a lot).

Any ideas about losing that extra 20 pounds?

I would like to specify some points:
  • currently I do carb-cycling (LCHF on easy days (4 a week) and HCLF on hard days (3 a week));
  • I don't believe in things like MyFitnessPal (as an engineer I cannot forget that humans are not machines and that thermodynamics laws are dramatically different for us! :wink: );
  • I'm training 5/6xweek and, from September, I'm going to train 4xweek with bike (2 with home trainer during week and 2 long rides on the road in the weekend) and 2xweek cross training (swimming, in order to relax my legs during the off season and a bit of strength training)

Thanks a lot and have a nice day!

P.S. Sorry for the English again! :D

Comments

• singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,489
    Hi Vlaanderen,

First off, your English is great and in truth it is probably better than most people on here, since we learned it from our parents and you learned it from a trained teacher :-)

You probably already know a lot about food, fuel, exercise, nutrition etc. so I'd suggest finding a good book and reading it - something like "racing weight" by Matt Fitzgerald.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123