Tyre Advice..!!!

pjmccree
pjmccree Posts: 4
edited July 2016 in Road beginners
Hi All, I've just converted to road from MTB Downhill and Enduro thanks to a spot on spinal surgery. I have bought the BTwin Triban 540 II from Decathlon as per Bikeradar's rave review for it's class for the price. Enjoying the hell out of it at the moment and as a part of my first ride I battled the road section from Fuengirola to Alhurin el Grande (close to Marbella), which is 15km over a 622m elevation climb, non-stop....not bad for a 50 year old!

I am by no means an expert, but everything appears to be working perfectly straight out of the box. The gearing is smooth, it changes direct very quickly and the geometry suits my weight and height. The brakes are stunning on some of the scary downhill road sections here in Spain but as per the review, the Equinox II tyres are awful and extremely painful on the nether regions if you hit rough tarmac. Also there is a lot of vibration travel through the bars causing finger numbness.

The frame and forks are large enough to accommodate a 28mm tyre, so could someone please recommend a decent brand that offers both comfort and grip. I am not so worried about minor speed loss as I am more interested in long distance endurance, as comfort is my goal!

I would sincerely appreciate any advice from any seasoned road riders out there?

Many thanks,
Phil :D

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,433
    gp4000sii are available in 28

compound gives good grip, reasonable puncture protection, supple enough for comfort at lower pressures

i use 23mm on my commute bike in london, they get some surface cuts in the wet but the rubber is pretty thick so punctures are rare (touch wood)
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    My next set of tyres are going to be Michelin Pro4 Endurance in 25 or 28, have had a great time on the 25c Service Course (commuting and racing).