Starting out.

solidsneek
solidsneek Posts: 57
edited July 2016 in MTB beginners
So I have a MTB which cost me around £500 so nothing spectacular but real nice looking. I ride it a lot along the canal 10-15 miles at a time. I think however I want to start hitting some beginner trails. I live in the west midlands (cannock chase) however I worry, worry that I have never done a trail before and that 1- I don't want to embarrass myself and 2- People think I am slow and no idea what I am doing. Any reccomended tips and tricks to get started?

Thanks guys. :mrgreen:

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Just go and ride, everyone starts out somewhere. Don't worry what other people think, it's not important, just have fun.
    We have a FB page for local rides, see if there's anything similar your way - I'm sure there is. We regularly get new people, and it's no hassle to help them round, and warn them of plces they could get killed, or worse.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • solidsneek
    Great advice! I just think it's about not wanting to hold people up or whatever. A trail to myself would be good just to get into the swing of it but I think you are right.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Arrange to go out mid week sometime when it's quiet, or find some local trails and play a bit.
    Otherwise just keep an ear out and let faster people through when you can.
    But everyone is allowed on the trails so if people are impatient tough.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • solidsneek
    Thats a great piece of advice. Thanks man! I live like 20 minutes from the chase so I would be mad not to.
  • kickaxe
    kickaxe Posts: 446