Importance factor

Jerry185
Jerry185 Posts: 143
edited June 2016 in Road beginners
Afternoon all,

Newbie here, so first question. Been proper riding for just over a year and put about 2,000 miles in various different places.

So here's the thing, I would put myself as (squeezing head through door) very fit for my age, with a B'Twin 540 road bike a pro described as 'perfectly reasonable.'

Having done a bike camp and a couple of Sportives, what I'd like to know from you experts is how much importance you factor into the following categories;-

Strength
Aerobic capacity
Bike
Bike positioning e.g. Retul
Experience/Technique

i.e. is it worth spending another £1000 on a carbon bike which might gain me, say, 2% in performance, whereas reading and improving technique may get me 15%

Thanks for your thoughts

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Your bike is fine. Looking at your milage and you're really just starting. You should just get out on the bike and spend the cash on clothes that fits and doesn't flap round. Anything loose just burns watts. And your new kit will also work on your next bike that you will probably get next year....

If you want to get really serious look at trainerroad for the winter turbo sessions.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    This is Beginners, marra.. just learn how to pedal in circles before all that sh it
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    ^^^ yes, that.

BTW - 2,000 miles over a year is an average of about 40 miles per week. It's obviously better than nothing, but 2, 3 or 4 times that amount is more typical of a regular, non-competitive rider.
  • Jerry185
    Thanks guys, all advice is taken on board. Mileage is difficult as its not my main sport, but I'm doing what I can. I also live on a small island so events are few and getting off is expensive.

Happy cycles.
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614