Giant Trance X5 2010 ..?

jayjaymozza
jayjaymozza Posts: 21
edited June 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi all, I am wanting to get into down hill mountain biking ... I have came across a giant trance x5 2010 model for a pretty good price.
What the thoughts on these as a first full sus bike for down the hills?
Also what would be first upgrades ? Cheers

Comments

• Rookie1986
    Rookie1986 Posts: 153
    Do you have a link to the bike as the results I'm seeing through a Google search would lead me to believe it's more an XC bike rather than DH (geometry, travel etc etc). Remember that just because it's full sus doesn't mean it's a DH bike!
  • So how do I know if it's a downhill bike if I'm new to this ?
    Thanks
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    A Downhill bike will have circa 180-200mm of travel, will be pretty heavy and absolutely useless for doing anything but riding downhill (so you'll be uplifting it), also there are very few places in the UK (including the UK Downhill series) where you need a Downhill bike.

The Trance is a trail bike, it will perfectly rideable on that flat and uphill and cope with reasonable aggressive downhill tracks (noting all tracks have some downhill, doesn't make it Downhill).

So where did you think you were going to ride and how aggressively and we can perhaps make some suggestions.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • I wasn't planning on strictly downhill ride.
    I need something that will be nice to ride on flat surface aswell as off road, also a little bit of downhill riding ... Nothing too aggressive though.
  • The Rookie
    OK, so not downhill at all.

Where (name a place as an easy way of understanding) will you be riding?