Fast rolling, tubeless ready, 29er tyres.

*AL*
*AL* Posts: 1,185
edited June 2016 in MTB buying advice
Good people of BR,

I have been plodding around on a CX bike for the past 4 years and have lost all contact with MTB world.

I've just bought a 29er HT and could really do with swapping out the tyres (bargain basement Conti Mountain Kings) for something faster rolling and tubeless compatible.

There's a couple of trail parks around here and lots of man made trails so just about everything I ride is hard-ish packed sand/gravel, used to run Spesh Captain/Spesh Fast Track way back when, used to run 26" wheels too, so I guess everything changes ?

No real budget, prepared to trade some weight for strength.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Any folding will go up tubeless.

Personally I like a Schwalbe Rocket Ron up front and a Racing Ralph out back.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    conti race kings race sports are pretty quick. Vittoria Saguro's folding are pretty good too. They also have some new graphene tyres that might be worth a look.
    http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.
  • kickaxe
    kickaxe Posts: 446
    The Rookie wrote:

Wire bead won't?
    -Cube Acid 29" 2013
    -A new Giant Trance 3 2015!
  • poah
    poah Posts: 3,369
    Kickaxe wrote:
    The Rookie wrote:

Wire bead won't?

not all folding tyres will go up tubless either
  • BloggingFit
    BloggingFit Posts: 919
    Bontrager XR1 Team Issue TLR would do the job very well otherwise XR3 for a little more grip.
    Bird Aeris : Trek Remedy 9.9 29er : Trek Procaliber 9.8 SL
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    +1 for Ron/Ralph or Thunder Burt.