Strange Braking Technique...

huskie69
huskie69 Posts: 87
edited May 2016 in Road general
Hi all

I seem to have developed an odd braking technique when I need to "emergency stop". I think I've been doing it for a few years without thinking anything of it but I wanted to run it past some other people to see if it's "acceptable behaviour"!

I'm quite a heavy rider (>17st) and carry quite a lot of forward momentum when I'm rolling at a decent pace. This makes it difficult to stop suddenly without either skidding insanely or just failing to stop altogether.

To counteract that momentum, I've noticed I subconsciously bounce the rear wheel whilst feathering both brakes - rolling up on the front momentarily, to bounce the rear tyre to avoid skidding then releasing front brake and repeating. All happens in a fraction of a second, pracitaclly beyond my control - maybe a primitive human ABS system?!

It certainly feels like it helps me slow down quickly while retaining control over the bike. Whether or not it actually is working is up for debate!

Just wondering if this is anything anyone else does (especially the heavier riders)?
Sensa SL Aquila Di2
Mekk Poggio 2.5 (smashed but can't bear to part with a carbon frame :( )
Cannondale Synapse CAAD10 (Winter Hack)
Shark Attack Pro Ltd - TT project build

Comments

• roger_merriman
    roger_merriman Posts: 6,165
    No I modulate each brake independently, with most bikes you can feel the rear lighten the aim under hard braking is to hold it at that point, ie getting the maximum, even if it means locking/loosening off the rear. Very few bikes can brake hard with the rear.
  • dork_knight
    dork_knight Posts: 405
    Have you ever ridden fixed as it sounds similar to a skip stop?
    The path of my life is strewn with cowpats from the devil's own satanic herd.
  • huskie69
    Have you ever ridden fixed as it sounds similar to a skip stop?

That's exactly it!