How much is too much for a beginner?

FSITR
FSITR Posts: 18
edited June 2016 in Tour & expedition
Hi everyone,

I want to do a tour from Prague to somewhere....I am undecided. I've seen some incredible locations that I would love to ride to but as a beginner I am not confident choosing a route based on my ability. I have been road cycling for only a short period of time, several months, however I am relatively young (26) and fit.

An example would be cycling to the Dolomites, or further across to Istanbul. I appreciate that terrain is the deciding factor here, but I would really love to hear your opinions on what you think might be 'too much too soon'.

P.S. I don't have a time limit so I wouldn't necessarily be rushing, if this impacts your opinion...

Thanks, I look forward to reading your comments!

Comments

• WinNT
    WinNT Posts: 21
    FSITR wrote:
    Hi everyone,

I want to do a tour from Prague to somewhere....I am undecided. I've seen some incredible locations that I would love to ride to but as a beginner I am not confident choosing a route based on my ability. I have been road cycling for only a short period of time, several months, however I am relatively young (26) and fit.

An example would be cycling to the Dolomites, or further across to Istanbul. I appreciate that terrain is the deciding factor here, but I would really love to hear your opinions on what you think might be 'too much too soon'.

P.S. I don't have a time limit so I wouldn't necessarily be rushing, if this impacts your opinion...

Thanks, I look forward to reading your comments!
    I know several people who made long tours without having much expirience in cycling. So it looks like you can do it if you plan it properly and talk to espirienced people.

But it is always better to have relevant expirience before doing something serious. So maybe you should make something like a tour for a week not so far.

Good luck!
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437