Would I notice the difference??

Kitz
Kitz Posts: 63
edited May 2016 in MTB beginners
So I am new to this. Not new to bikes, been a roadie for a while, so I know about groupsets, components, frame materials/geometry etc, and it all seems to swap fairly well between the areas.

My question is, as a new rider I am already considering a new bike. I have a 2015 Saracen Kili flyer 121 with reverb post. All the reviews put me off it a bit, and they seem accurate. Nice and confident on the downs, but heavy to climb. I got it mainly as I wanted something that would give me a good idea of if I was in it for the long haul without breaking the bank. Got this bike ex demo for a steal! Already been offered more in part ex than I paid for it!

The bike I'm looking at is the Santa Cruz Bronson Carbon C. Full carbon, 150mm instead of 120. 1x11 instead of 2x10. Lighter, better spec etc.

From an experienced riders perspective, would I notice enough difference between them to make it worth the purchase?

Thanks!

Comments

• kyle17290
    kyle17290 Posts: 261
    What about a santa cruz 5010???? Mate has one and he and i both find it a great allrounder. Cant comment on the bronson never ridden one.
  • Kitz
    Yeah looked at the 5010. Nice bike!

Reason for looking at the Bronson is the longer travel on the front and rear suspension. May come in useful if I decide to do a few uplift days which I quite like the idea of if I learn to jump!

The lifetime frame warrantee on the Santa Cruz's is what got me looking at that make seriously!
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Jumps are easier with less suspension, not more. I do bigger stuff on my 120mm trail bike than my 200mm downhill bike. Suspension soaks up the kick off the lip of jumps.
    It's all about quality of suspension and frame geometry rather than amount of suspension travel.