Team Sky - a success?

secretsam
secretsam Posts: 5,098
edited June 2016 in Pro race
Now, I'm going to be honest: I'm new to the whole "interested in pro cycling" thing

But as I've been watching the Giro, a thought has occurred: given the level of funding Sky has had, compared to other teams, has the return on investment justified the level of money poured into it? (admittedly, 3 TdF isn't bad!)

Another thing: where the hell is the Sky ladies' team?????

It's just a hill. Get over it.

Comments

• mrb123
    mrb123 Posts: 4,581
    The Tour de France is probably worth more to team sponsors in terms of exposure and publicity than all of the other races in the calendar put together.

Winning the tour was effectively Sky's raison d'etre when they were set up. Having won 3 out of the last 4 I think it's safe to conclude that Team Sky has been a resounding success. It's only now that they're seriously looking at becoming a more complete team to compete in the classics and all 3 Grand Tours.
  • topper_harley
    topper_harley Posts: 597
    Sky funding? BMC and Katusha have bigger budgets than sky yet no one questions their success and compared to sky its is nowhere
  • The_Boy
    The_Boy Posts: 3,099
    Sky funding? BMC and Katusha have bigger budgets than sky yet no one questions their success and compared to sky its is nowhere

I do.
    Team My Man 2018: David gaudu, Pierre Latour, Romain Bardet, Thibaut pinot, Alexandre Geniez, Florian Senechal, Warren Barguil, Benoit Cosnefroy
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Sky (the company) would measure success not by wins but by market penetration in Europe. It apparently has not provided the return they wanted.
    Segafredo on the other hand have stated that this year has been amazing for them, the returns are better than they could've imagined.

Sky the team however? Incredibly successful.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • durhamwasp
    durhamwasp Posts: 1,247