Hydraulic brake newbie issue!

Kitz
Kitz Posts: 63
edited June 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
So I'm brand new to mountain bikes, coming from roadie experience, so disks and hydraulics are totally new to me.

My Kili flyer 121 has shimmano hydraulic brakes fitted and they are, or were great! Until I washed it!

I like a clean bike after a ride. Wash with muc off, and usually give a good coating of the bike spray afterwards. Gets the water out and looks nice. Problem is, after following my usual routine on this bike (which I've owned for a whole 5 days) and suddenly the brakes don't work! Can pull them right back to the bars, and they squeak and squeal a lot, but do t actually stop the wheels. LBS 100 yards from my house, so over we go. Guy bleeds them, says there fine, but the discs and blocks are contaminated with something and can I leave it with them to take some emery paper to the disks and possibly change the pads!! :cry: :O
All I did was clean it!!

Is this really such a no no with disks? I didn't even spray it directly on them, must have just got a bit on the disks while I was doing the frame which got into the pads when I rode it around afterwards. Do I have to cover the disks if using the bike spray, or keep it off the MTB altogether?? Surely that should be mentioned on the product?

Annoyed! 5 days, 3 rides, broken it already! :roll:

Help. :)

Adam.

Comments

• lpretro1
    lpretro1 Posts: 237
    Sounds as though you have sprayed lube onto disks and/or pads. Just washing a bike wouldn't cause that problem (unless u used car wash & wax shampoo. You do not need to squirt spray everywhere - you just need a little lube on pivot points on front & rear derailleurs and chain - do not spray all over the cassette or anywhere else. Bleeding only removes air from a brake - so that was unnecessary. Get new pads - clean the rotors with ipa or other proprietary disk brake cleaner - fit new pads and then go bed them in and ride. Step away from the spray can!!
  • kickaxe