First Solo Ride Abroad Advice

Biomech
Biomech Posts: 158
edited April 2016 in Tour & expedition
Hello!

I'm thinking of just jumping on the ferry and doing say 100 miles along the French coastline over 3 days (Cherbourg-Caen), maybe next month.

I've never done anything like this before and am really just looking for some advice. My main concerns are things like bike security, gear etc. Are bikes generally safe during sight seeing stops? Do you leave the panniers on or are there special ones that convert into a backpack? Are there certain types of places to avoid etc? Any special road safety/laws for cycling?

Also with accommodation, I'd like to camp in a tent, but probably end up in hostels, how/where would you lockup your bike at a campsite? Do hostels generally provide bike storage or locking racks? If camping in a tent, how do you charge your phones?

Lots of questions I'm afraid, perhaps there's a website or page link with pre made routes with accommodation and/or check lists? I've had a quick look and still Googling the routes etc now.

I'd like to bike the coastline and see the WWII landing beaches and "touristy" bits like that. And cheap, as cheap as possible :P

TIA

Comments

• marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Fantastic stuff! It'll be a great trip.

Security - well, really depends on what you're doing. If you are unlikely to leave your bike for a long period unattended, then all you need is a cafe lock (a light cable lock) to stop someone just pedalling away on your bike. This is only really suitable where the bike is in your vision whilst you are sat having a coffee etc.

That is all I carry when touring solo. It's enough for whilst I am camping at night (though I also tend to run a guy from the tent through the wheel etc. to further stop the opportunist thief.