Help and advice

St50vec
St50vec Posts: 57
edited April 2016 in Road beginners
Hi everyone I'm pretty new to road cycling and have only just restarted cycling after a 15 gap. The question I have is I have an apollo evade mountain bike which I got for Xmas I have no intention of ever going off road with it so kind of turning it into a hybrid. So far I've changed the tyres to road ones which has helped the issue I have is I run out of gears to easy how easy is it to fit better gears to it. I know it's only a budget bike but at the moment I can't afford anything better so trying to make good a bad situation. Sorry if in wrong section. Andy

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I think you need to be clearer in "run out of gears". If you mean there are not enough lower gears to get you up a hill then that would surprise me but then some folks do seem to need very low gears. If you mean that you 'spin out' then there are simple options (like a new cassette, although which one would need a little more info) but most beginners rarely actually spin out, more a case of finding 80+ to be unsustainable. In fact, most beginners average cadence is very low by normal road standards but find that this increases as their experience grows.

Can you clarify a few items, not least the actual gearing, e.g., 24/30/44 at the front, 14-36 at the rear, etc. I know some folks will say that you are trying to stick lipstick on a pig but I appreciate the lack of budget...but anything you do to that bike will always be a bit of a stopgap.
  • St50vec