Big tyres for a 2016 Genesis CDF

passout
passout Posts: 4,425
edited September 2017 in Cyclocross
Hi all

I've just bought the 2016 Genesis Croix De Fer 20 as a jack of all trades (commuting mainly). http://www.genesisbikes.co.uk/bikes/adv ... -de-fer-20 54cm

One thing I hope to do so is ride it off road on bridleways, gravel tracks, landrover tracks and some singletrack - all mixed up with tarmac. All day rides rather than touring. I'll be in the South Lakes and Scottish highlands mainly for this sort of thing. Mainly in summer probably not too muddy by cyclocross standards (based on what I've seen - never tried it).

I'll need a 2nd set of tyres, something more off road focused which are acceptable on road - a happy 50/50 compromise in other words. So
1) How big do you think I can go on the CDF - 40mm, 42mm, 44mm?
2) Any specific tyres you recommend?

My background is MTB and then road - looking forward to something inbetween!

Thanks.
'Happiness serves hardly any other purpose than to make unhappiness possible' Marcel Proust.

Comments

• src1
    src1 Posts: 301
    I use tubeless 35mm Schwalbe G-Ones one my '16 CdF, but that's with mudguards. They come out at about 38mm on my rims and work very well on and off-road, with the caveat that they're not a mud tyre.

Without 'guards, you could easily fit the 38mm version in there.

The Surly Knard 41 is also worth looking at.
  • passout
    That's useful - thanks. Had a quick look and both look good options.
    'Happiness serves hardly any other purpose than to make unhappiness possible' Marcel Proust.
  • passout