Do Saddles Wear Out

fatdaz
fatdaz Posts: 348
edited April 2016 in Road beginners
I've been riding my current "Summer" bike for 4 years and have consistently ridden ~5000 km per year on it. In the last 12 months I have started to feel less comfortable on the saddle on any ride over 3 hours or so. I find myself having to stand regularly and relieve pressure on the area around my a*se.

I had no such issues for the first 3 years of riding the bike even riding up to 8-9 hours. I lost a lot of weight so my body shaped changed but that was 2 years ago so, if that was the cause, I'd have expected to experience issues then rather than now. Likewise I bought a stiffer wheelset but also went from 23mm to 25mm tyres at a slightly lower pressure and certainly didn't initially notice any discomfort on long rides after that change. Are there any other components which could wear out over time and contribute to this or is it just likely to be a combination of advancing age, change in body shape, riding at a higher cadence, different wheels?

Is it worth another bike fit in the basis that all the weight loss may have changed my ideal riding position?

Cheers

Comments

• markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    It's just plastic, padding and a cover, so yes they can wear out like anything else.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,517
    saddles can wear out, padding disintegrates, they sag, etc., it varies with saddle

if your body has changed, less padding, that has an affect too

if the height/setback/angle aren't all just right even the 'correct' saddle for you will not be comfortable

not sure it needs a bike fit, try diy with the advice here...

https://www.stevehoggbikefitting.com/bi ... can-it-be/
    https://www.stevehoggbikefitting.com/bi ... oad-bikes/