Newbie Commute Bike

mstrmind5
mstrmind5 Posts: 45
edited April 2016 in Road beginners
Hi All,

Complete novice looking to get my first bike to use to commute ~10 miles each way through London/SE London (terrain pretty flat). I'm 6ft, 13 stone, 34.5 inch inside leg. Read a bit on bike guides, reviews but still unsure what to look for and what price bracket I should be looking at for my first bike.

So should I look to be getting a new bike from a store with good aftercare, there's a Decathalon I could visit, or is 2nd hand bike viable (remember complete novice)? Are there any particular specs I should be making a priority (groupset,weight,etc)?

I also know I have to factor in accessories - what are the essentials, or advised buys for road/commuting?

I know these questions have already been asked before, but any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,717
    First, and possibly most important question. Will you be carrying stuff?
    Backpack or panniers? If you need panniers then that will reduce your options considerably.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • mstrmind5
    Just a backpack, no panniers needed. Option to add a mudguard needed.
  • alan_sherman
    alan_sherman Posts: 1,157
    For me I'd suggest:
    Cycle to work scheme, Giant escape 3 hybrid (or the escape city), full mudguards, a pannier rack, pannier bags, decent lock, some lights. Add on a rain jacket and gloves for inclement weather.

10 miles would probably need a change of clothes so t shirts, shorts, jumper, tracksuit trousers, trainers would be an idea. The pannier helps your back stay non-sweaty and you can carry a change of clothes.