New bike.....and struggling....advice?

Furners78
Furners78 Posts: 11
edited April 2016 in Road beginners
Hello Everyone

I am new to road cycling - and until last week I had been doing training and some cycling events on a hybrid bike. I had really made some progress in my fitness and training, invested in a Turbo trainer and was feeling great. Completed a 37mile sportive 2 weeks ago and felt fantastic as it was hilly and had a huge hill at the end!

So, with a 50 mile and 100 mile event coming up, I invested in a Decathlon B'TWIN....and am finding it VERY hard work! I did a 33 miler with Toys Hill in it the other day, and it was hell.... I feel like I am cycling so slowly, my legs finding the gears hard work, and in the lowest gear hills are a huge struggle. I know if I had been on my old bike I would have found it much easier! Even today I did a ride that I managed with ease 2 weeks ago, and today it was much slower and harder.....

Please help! Is this just a case of getting used to a new bike? Should I put it on the TT to get used to it more? I am really feeling pretty deflated and stressed as I was feeling great, even now a flat cycle feels exhausting!

Any advice would be greatly received....!
Thanks

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Have you checked that the brakes aren't rubbing ? Tyres not rubbing on frame ? Tyres pumped up properly ?
  • Furners78
    Might check the tyres etc again - but it was serviced as I bought it.....

Both my new bike and old bike had triple chainsets......in my old bike I could ride with ease on biggest cog, now I can't!

Is it just a gears thing? Will a few sessions on the TT help?
  • fenix
    It could well be that your new bike has a higher top gear - but is it a user problem ?

You don't go into the top gear if you can't turn it ? Stop going up the gears when it's getting too hard ?

My top gear is only useful for descending at 40mph downhill.
  • Furners78