Going back to 2x10/11 from 1x10/11

paulmon
paulmon Posts: 315
edited March 2016 in MTB buying advice
Currently in a bit of a dilemma. I've been running 1x10 (30x40) on my FS for 18 months and its perfect for that bike. I was also running the same on my 26 HT but with a 32 up front and all was good. However I recently updated the HT to a 29er and every time I've been out on it I've found myself running out of gears or constantly riding towards the bottom end of the cassette. This is partly due to the type of riding I've been doing on the 29er, more XC than AM.

I'm currently looking at upgrading the SLX mech and shifters and the older Deore brakes to 11 speed XT. Initially I looked at the 1x11 with a 34 ring up front but I'm now thinking a 2x11 (38x28) will give me more flexibility. Has anyone else made the jump back for similar reasons?

Cheers
Paul

Comments

• Herdwick
    Herdwick Posts: 523
    Not that I know, it's not in trend... yet
    You get better range with the 2x11 which fits the long rides of xc, better high and low range plus less gaps between gears. If you don't mind the extra heft and cluttered bar then go for it.
    “I am a humanist, which means, in part, that I have tried to behave decently without expectations of rewards or punishments after I am dead.”
    ― Kurt Vonnegut
  • Escher303
    Escher303 Posts: 342