choice of wheels

patraz
patraz Posts: 18
edited April 2016 in Road buying advice
Hello guys,
which of the following wheelset you think is the most appropriate for a middle level bike (total cost up to around 2200euros):
DT Swiss R23 (or 32) Spline
DT Swiss R20 Dicut
Mavic Cosmic Elite
Mavic Ksyrium Elite
Mavic Ksyrium Equipe S
or
Cero AR30

I am a bit new at this and I dont really have experience on using them.

Thanks a lot

Comments

• dstev55
    dstev55 Posts: 742
    I've had DT Swiss R20 Dicuts and Cero AR30 on my Focus Cayo and the AR30's are in a different league.

Stiffer, lighter and just generally feel faster.
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,489
    If you will want to try tubeless tyres then it would be worth getting rims that are tubeless compatible.
    The trend in rims is to make them wider, so you may want to consider that and get a newer design, but of course only if you have sufficient clearance on your frame to fit them.
  • trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    My preference would be the R23 as it has a wider rim.
  • Ste_S
    Ste_S Posts: 1,173
    patraz wrote:
    Hello guys,
    which of the following wheelset you think is the most appropriate for a middle level bike (total cost up to around 2200euros):
    DT Swiss R20 Dicut
    Mavic Cosmic Elite
    Mavic Ksyrium Elite
    Mavic Ksyrium Equipe S
    or
    Cero AR30

Thanks a lot

What's wrong with the wheels your bike comes with ?
  • patraz
    Ste_S wrote:
    patraz wrote:
    Hello guys,
    DT Swiss R20 Dicut
    Mavic Cosmic Elite
    Mavic Ksyrium Elite
    Mavic Ksyrium Equipe S
    or
    Cero AR30

Thanks a lot

There are very entry level of DT Swiss and would like to upgrade to something better.
  • patraz
    Singleton wrote:
    If you will want to try tubeless tyres then it would be worth getting rims that are tubeless compatible.