Newbie broken bike replacement advice

dhlivasp
dhlivasp Posts: 4
edited September 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi all

I'm fairly new to the road cycling scene but recently purchased a Trek Emonda S5 from Evans for £1100. Unfortunately that particular bike was a bit of a dud and began to dismantle itself after only a few rides. Evans have however agreed to replace it.

The difficulty now is deciding what to replace it with as because I bought the bike whilst on sale I'm struggling to get something of comparable specification. While not totally opposed to putting forward further money I'm slightly reluctant to and am now left with weighing up the merits of aluminium vs carbon, tiagra vs 105 etc.

The options at the minute in the £1000-1300 bracket seem to be:

CAAD12 105 (although currently unavailable in the frame size I need (60 or 63) and it's unknown when it will be available)
Specialized Allez SL Comp
BMC Teammachine SLR03 Tiagra
GT Grade Alloy 105

Any thoughts on the above would be greatly appreciated or any alternative suggestions.

Thanks

Comments

• Sportiveman
    Sportiveman Posts: 158
    What started to dismantle itself ? Can't Evans order in another emonda God you ? What type of bike you after or lightweight , racing, or adventure etc ?
  • dhlivasp
    I'm after a jack of all trades I suppose. My riding is/was split between the Cheshire plains and peaks.

The spokes lost all tension twice and the rear derailleur hanger snapped. Evans are saying that I can have the repaired Emonda back (which I don't want) but can't replace it as the value I paid is less than the current value of the bike... I would argue the point somewhat stronger although sadly I've lost some confidence in the bike which is a shame as I appreciate I was probably just unfortunate.
  • I would look at the fact that it was component failures not the frame itself.... so really you should loose faith in those particular components. Just a thought!