Bird Aeris of Whyte T130

MTB_Trail_Rider
MTB_Trail_Rider Posts: 3
edited April 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi guys, would appreciate the help as I have a bit of a dilemma . I'm fairly new to MTB's coming from a road bike background.
From reading the reviews and looking on the forums I have narrowed the bikes that I want down to 2 candidates which are the Bird Aeris or the Whyte T130s

I know that the white is off the peg where as with the bird it has a very good options list to spec from, but bike for bike with the cost spend being the same I would like to know which bike would be best for me.

If it's relevant I'm 6'3" and about 93kg

Thanks in advance, much appreciated.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I'd pick the Bird. You can talk to the guy who puts it together, who happens to be the same guy who owns the company.

Bespoke is better.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Bespoke may or may not be better. The off the shelf options could be what you want.
    The Whyte might be too small. The large size is too small for me and I'm only 6'1"
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The Aeris is a longer travel machine, with slacker angles - this will make the handling more stable and give extra confidence on the downs. The Whyte should feel sharper in the handling stakes (though is not particularly steep compared to some). However the Whyte doesn't really have the light weight to go with its more xc based poise at this money. This is probably a lot to do with a lot of mid range parts such as the double ringed x5 kit and own name kit. You are getting quite a bit more gear range though. The Aeris GX spec, with reverb is about the same price and gets a better fork to boot. In fact I'd buy without the reverb - you can always buy one after market for less than the upgrade price.