apologies in advance - another bike sizing post...

apreading
apreading Posts: 4,535
edited March 2016 in Road buying advice
I apologise in advance, but for reasons which hopefully will excuse me I would like to ask for advice about bike size for me.

I have not owned a drop bar bike since more years ago than I wish to say, when I was a teenager. I have been riding a large boardman hybrid for the last 4 years and perfectly happy with fit & comfort, regularly riding 100km and 100mile rides.

Now that bike is FUBAR after being rammed in the side by a car, as is my fractured collarbone...

I am not 100% convinced about a move to drop bars but I am wondering whether to give it a try. One of the reasons being that I can get a lighter, higher spec drop bar bike than manufacturers offer in straight bars and I am cyrious to try it out properly.

My LBS has a lovely looking Whyte Stowe Ultegra 2015 for a grand off the normal asking price but its a 54 frame.

I am 6' 2" and 33" inside leg.

This sounded waay too small to me but the experienced guy in the LBS insisted it was the right size when queried and said he would do a bike fit to get it set up right,

Trouble is that I cant do that bike fit in current condition with arm in a sling. But if I wait, the bike may be gone.

So I am not asking if this bike is the right size for me at this point, merely whether that is even plausible for a 54 for someone of my size? The guy is experienced but can I trust his advice?

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Way too small.
    I'd suggest a 58-60cm top tube measurement for you.
    Drop bars a great as you can move your hands to a variety of positions. I'd recommend some 'compact' bars such as deda Zero or 3T ergonova.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • apreading
    that was my thought - so small that i couldnt believe it unless it had abnormal geometry compared to other bikes. I know Whyte like to be a bit different...