Accelerating from a standing start (on road)

bungle73
bungle73 Posts: 758
edited March 2016 in MTB beginners
This question is about a mountain bike, so technically I guess it belongs here, but it's about road riding...although I guess it could apply to any good of good surface riding. Also, I'm not a "beginner" (I've been riding for quite a few years now), but this is a kind of beginner's question.

What I want to know is, which method is the best for accelerating away from a standing start, if you know you'll eventually be going fast enough to use the big ring:

a) After pushing off immediately shifting up onto the big ring and pushing the gears for a few seconds.

or

b) Staying in the middle ring, shifting through the cassette, until you reach a high enough speed, then quickly shifting down the cassette, and up onto the big ring

Up until now I've been doing "a", but "b" seems more efficient? But more hassle though.

Thoughts?

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Being in the right gear is always going to be quicker than being in the wrong gear.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • If you're a leisure rider surely this question has little significance?

If this is a genuine question then you already know the answer... Do whatever suits you / your bike to get up to the fastest speed in the shortest time whilst expending the least ammont of energy.

The answer lies in your gearing, ground conditions, the bike, terrain, gradient... and more importantly the size / type / capacity of YOUR leg muscles.

Personally I'll drop through most of the cassette before hitting the big ring.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812