Going clipless *whimpers*

heeeresjohnny
heeeresjohnny Posts: 10
edited March 2016 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to this cycling malarkey (bought my first roadie - a Giant Defy 3 - in October last year) and have so far been commuting and going on long-ish rides when I have time off.

I have decided to upgrade and so attached some Shimano PD-R540 SPD-SLs to it and got some R078 shoes, and attached the cleats aligning the ball of the foot with the pedal axle. After a bit of practice clipping in and out on a quiet road, I thought I'd sussed it and decided to brave the mean streets of London the very next morning. My over-enthusiasm was swiftly rewarded with my foot slipping when trying to clip my right foot (I keep my left clipped in) back in at a green light, my crown jewels smashing against the top tube, and a very red face with panicked expression. :oops: I also have a slight lower back pain on the left side.

I'm wondering if folks here would be able to advise me whether any other changes are generally required for the set up of the bike when going clipless? Saddle-height? Position? Handlebars? I may have jumped in at the deep end slightly, having come straight from stock toe-clips, and any thoughts would be much appreciated.

HJ

Comments

• sheffsimon
    sheffsimon Posts: 1,282
    No other adjustments should be necessary.

I would probably question what benefit you will get from clipless over clips and straps, given the type of riding you are doing.

I might have recommended going down the SPD route rather than SPD-SL, if you are commuting and touring. I find SPD's much better for commuting, I can walk in my SPD shoes, whereas my road shoes with Look pedals (much the same as SPD-SL) are impractical for walking.

Easier to get your feet clipped in to SPD's, which, if you have numerous traffic lights on your route, is a consideration.
  • Thanks for getting back to me.