Newbie asking about tyres.

filsgreen
filsgreen Posts: 4
edited March 2016 in Commuting general
Morning all

Well I've been lurking for a while now and to save boring you with repetitive questions; I've read about 47 pages of topics. I've already decided on a bike, with the help of my local bike shop, Crosby cycles. I could have gone to Evans in Liverpool, but decided to take your advice and support my LBS.

Anyhow I decided on a Cube SL Cross, as that was in my price range and I wanted a relatively light bike. My previous bike was an electric Kalkhoff weighing in at a mighty seventy pounds. Prior to that my experience of bikes was cheap mountain bikes or Racers in the 70's :D .

I'm not getting my bike until Tuesday as it has to come from Belgium. The bike has Schwalbe kojaks on and because I'm an amateur rider and was scared of the near treadless tyre I asked him if he would change them to Marathon pluses. He said no problem; he would charge me £30 and keep the kojaks. I said sound and shook hands.

However, after reading a gazillion threads on tyres I'm not so sure I've made the right decision. The pluses are pretty heavy and although I want the protection against punctures, is there an lighter alternative which is just as good?

Also, am I being a wimp wanting tread on my tyres? All of my riding will be on the road or canal path so I'm worried I'll hit diesel/detritus on the roads and go a*se over tit. I've asked for 35, would it be any better to get 32? Is the 35 any safer? Any advice would be appreciated as I'm sure I could phone John in the bike shop tomorrow and ask him to change to whatever.
Thanks in advance.

Phil

Comments

• Not sure about the tyres you ask about but I know one thing as a cyclist and motorcyclist; you don't want to hit diesel.......cus you ain't stopping on no matter what tyres you have on.