Rockshox monarch debonair

Chris71127
Chris71127 Posts: 71
edited March 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Not sure if there's is a an issue with my rear shock. I'm new to having a full sus so this might just be me being naive...

The rockshox rear has a blue lever with free settings as far as I can workout out they are full travel, pedal and lockout.

My issue is that I can't tell any real difference between any of the modes. It's either extremely slight or for whatever reason not working.

The red compression dial clearly woks as it should and it holds its sag in the correct place etc.

I've only just bought the bike (whyte t130) and it's great but this is niggling me.

Thanks in advance for your help

Comments

• Dirtydog11
    Dirtydog11 Posts: 1,621
    The red compression dial clearly woks as it should and it holds its sag in the correct place etc.
    :?
    Red dial is rebound, and generally should be set as fast as possible. Set it too slow and suspension will pack down (shock gets shorter after each successive hit).

Back it off until it feels like your going to get bucked off, at which point wind it back on a click or two.

Should be a marked difference between open and lockout, but might not be obvious if your just doing a static bounce test.

If you haven't, try setting rebound up as above and retest.
  • Sorry I meant rebound lol. Have tried various settings with the sag running at 25%.
    Using the blue lever doesn't seem to have any real effect.

Be really interested to hear from someone that has the same model to see what they think of the difference of the three settings
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Try pedalling up a hill out of the saddle in each setting.
    Just bouncing out it won't really let you feel the differences.
  • Will give it a go tomorrow. Thanks for the advice
  • Gave it a try and it does appear to make a slight difference. Can't tell any difference with the middle setting.