A choice between 2

g10
g10 Posts: 22
edited February 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi Guys,

New to your forum & this is my 1st post.

I own a Boardman MX Comp and find it unsuitable for some of the off road riding I'd like to do... so, I've been looking at a few mountain bikes. Both similarly priced, and as a newby to the sport (at least 20yrs since I rode regularly), I'd appreciate your help/advice and suggestions with my choice.

My riding wont be extreme.. it'll be bridal and costal routes with some forest trails on occasion.

As a Boardman owner I admit to liking the brand.

Ive been looking at the Boardman Team HT 650B 2014 and the new Boardman Comp 2015. Both priced currently around £650.

Which is the better buy, and why? Also, is there anything else youd suggest I look at, and why?

Many thanks!

Comments

• oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    Links to the bikes?
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • I'm not an expert on Boardman bikes but both only seem "average" in terms of spec for the money....

Really at this price point direct-mail-order is king and by a fair bit too, if I was shopping within your price bracket I'd head over to Canyon and look at their Grand Canyon range, or Bike Discount and their Radon ZR Team range both come with a Rockshox Recon fork which is where your money is best invested imo.

If you do go with the Boardman you can join British Cycling and get 10% off all orders at Halfords :)
  • JGTR
    JGTR Posts: 1,404
    29" sounds the better choice (if the other is 29") for the riding you will be doing.
  • g10
    Sorry, here is a link to them:

Team HT 650B
    http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/b ... -650b-2014

New: Comp
    http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/m ... -comp-27-5

I think the new Comp is heavier... but possibly has better shocks?

Other than that, I'm not sure which is better.

Cheers
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812