26 inch tyre combo's for wet muddy trails please

strauss_jon
strauss_jon Posts: 39
edited February 2016 in MTB buying advice
Hi all

With the vast array of tyres out there and my lack of expertise in the matter - I was hoping to get some recommendations from you guys.

My riding is XC on the south downs and it's mega muddy at the moment so I'm looking for grippy tyres that shed mud easily. Having said that, it's 5+miles of concrete each way to get to the south downs so a bit of a 'roller' would be a nice to have.

After reading positive reviews for Schwalbe Racing Ralph Performance DC 26*2.1 (good roller and for shedding mud apparently) i went ahead and bought a pair can can categorically say they're absolutely rubbish for wet mud. Mud sticks like glue and i've just found myself wheel spinning, falling off then walking the rest of the trail. They left me with no confidence at all on slippery terrain.

So i'm new to all this, and I was reading a wider front with cross treads and a narrower rear with horizontal treads? Common sense tells me a wider rear is better for grip (more contact patch on driving wheel) so i don't understand that reasoning? As for mud displacement - it's a minefield out there. So many tyres / tread patterns claiming this and that...and especially since 26 inch seems to be on the way out?! I looked at some of the top mtb tyres only for them to be available in 27 and 29.

So....any recommendations for 26 inch front and back tyre combinations (with widths), mud displacer and preferably ok'ish for a bit of concrete (latter less important mind you). After years of going with stock items, now i understand the importance of the right tyre for the conditions!

Advice much appreciated. Thanks, Jon

Comments

• JGTR
    JGTR Posts: 1,404