Carrying the family bikes on the roof

Cliveyp
Cliveyp Posts: 173
edited February 2016 in Family & kids cycling forum
Hey all. I'm more usually found snooping the road bike section of this forum, but decided this was probably a better place to put this question.....hopefully you can help me!

We are off to Center Parcs next month and are looking to take our own bikes. I currently have a single Thule 591 that i've used to carry my MTB and roadie. I've had no problems with it, but I have a slight nervousness about using it on the road bike now i've moved to a carbon frame. I'm thinking about changing this one to a fork mount - but this may be a longer term thing depending on the outcome of this thread.

I have been looking around for another pair of used 591's, but they seem to hold their value to the point that i'm as well off buying a new pair from Sandicliffe Ford Parts website (£115 for two). I have found a local person selling some Thule 532's though, but I have no experience of these. They are selling 3 of them altogher (I only need to carry 3 bikes in total) so am wondering if these are worth considering instead of the 591's? Potentially, I could then sell the current 591 and one of the 532's and put that towards a 561 which I would then use to carry the roadbike in the future.......

Please can you let me know your experiences of these carriers? Are they good for kids bikes too? We currently need it to clamp on a Frog 52, but obviously this will change. It would never need to clamp anything smaller......
2015 Ridley Fenix 105
2012 Cube Ltd SL
2011 Trek 1.2 - Sold
2001 Giant Boulder - Sold

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    TBH Center Parcs is one of the best ways to lose your own bikes.

rent some when there and keep yours locked up at home.

some reading search.php?keywords=stolen+parcs&terms=all&author=&sc=1&sf=all&sr=posts&sk=t&sd=d&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search