Best lock for humid weather?

indecisive
indecisive Posts: 3
edited February 2016 in Commuting chat
Hello!
I am a student that relies on her bike to get to school and back. I live in the beautiful, but rainy scotland, where no matter where you park your bike (yes, even indoors), the humidity will penetrate to the very depths of the lock and rust it solid. This means that I will stick in my key but it just won't turn! Highly inconvenient. I've used a number of locks and managed to get my bike free with a spritz of WD40 (thank the heavens for that stuff) but not managed to rescue the lock afterwards. So, what I'm trying to ask is,
What lock can you recommend me that is good against humidity?
[list=5]
[*]WATERPROOF/RUST PROOF - please[/*]
[*]One with a mechanism that is smooth and reliable.[/*]
[*]I'd like a chain lock so I can attach my bike to railings etc.[/*]
[*] In an ideal world, I'd also like it to be 15 pounds or less. (will pay more if the lock is guaranteed to be uh-mazing)[/*]
[*] I'm not too worried about it being heavy-duty, since my bike is and looks rather cheap, but anyone will take a free bike that's not chained up. Nobody will put in too much effort to bypass a lock on the piece of junk that is my bike (; [/*][/list]
Anywyays appreciative of any advice or input!

Comments

• itboffin
    itboffin Posts: 20,052
    Look for an Amazon deal on a kryptonite d-lock and cable usually around £20 if you wait, very simple mechanism so easy to fill with a thick cheap grease once every few weeks or months.
    Rule #5 // Harden The Feck Up.
    Rule #9 // If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
    Rule #12 // The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.
    Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.
  • itboffin wrote: