Alternating between MTB and Roadie - Muscle issues

maroofsm
maroofsm Posts: 3
I have been riding MTB for 3 years, and have recently purchased a road bike. Bike fit is ok for both bikes. I noticed that after riding the roadie, when I go out with the mtb the next day, I feel kind of uncomfortable with the muscle during pedaling just above the hips at right side. I cant explain the feeling, it feels like something is holding the muscles. There is no pain, rather just a little bit of uncomfort, as if the muscles are having struggle to stretch or contract. I do not have any prior back/waist pain issues. With the mtb I am perfectly ok. What could be the reason? Is it temporary? I want to keep both the bikes, mtb for trails, and roadie for tours and commuting.

Comments

• meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    The geometry of the bikes is different so you are working different muscles in different ways (and, I guess, some muscles in almost identical ways) - there will be residual fatigue and stiffness in some that will show up as you swap. I used to commute all winter (December to April) on my MTB on nobbly (studded) tyres doing 35 miles a day with plenty of elevation. I'd always think that when I jumped on my road bike once the ice had gone, I'd be like a greased weasel but it was always just a few muscles that would limit me - at least until they'd got used to the new regime.

Keep going and it will settle down.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • Thanks a lot, I will be greatly delighted if it settles down. Cannot think of not riding my mtb during the weekends.