Improving power

dstev55
dstev55 Posts: 742
Hi all,

I've been cycling for about a year now but only really got in to it about 6 months ago. I started going out with a bunch of guys regularly and the difference in my ability between when I first went out with them and now is night and day. I am a good climber and built like one (6ft but only 67kg) however I find I struggle in the power department sometimes. By this I mean on the flats. I don't get dropped often but do struggle to maintain the level of power they put out for any sustained period. It's definitely in my legs as I'm not particularly out of breath.

I am wondering whether to have a session or two in the gym on a weekly basis to get a bit more strength in my legs. Or is it a case of because I am relatively new to the sport I should just carry on what I am doing and the power will gradually come?

Any thoughts?

Comments

• mrwibble
    mrwibble Posts: 980
    do squats, hamstring curls, leg extension, glute exercises, lunges, jumping lunges etc. You have only been cycling 6 months, I think power only comes with years of cycling. You are light and because of this you are good at climbing, try lots of tempo on flats about 75 to 85 rpm cadence, you could also do lots of heavy geared with low cadence 50-60 rpm stuff.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    edited January 2016
    You lack fitness - not leg strength. You don't need more leg strength - you need more fitness. Continuing to ride your bike will get you there...
  • dstev55
    OK thanks, I'm a high cadence rider anyway, I average between 85-90 on rides. Would grinding out a harder gear than I am comfortable with at times help?
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    No - just ride sometimes harder and/or more often in the gears you are comfortable in.
  • briantrumpet
    briantrumpet Posts: 17,690