Chain Gangs

AllezAllezAllez
AllezAllezAllez Posts: 207
Hi All,

I've been riding on the road for the passed five years (MTB before that), with last year my first full year of Sunday Club runs and the odd TT. In 2016 I'd like to push on my cycling fitness and thought a local chain gang would be a good starting point.

Generally I find the Club run more social and when it does push on I can keep the pace and often take turns at the front. I do find when I ride solo I find it hard to push as hard as when you are chasing a wheel so I thought a chain gang would be a good next step.

Locally there seems to be a number of Chain Gangs, especially in the Summer months. From what what I've heard from Club Riders there are chain gangs on Tuesday, Thursday evenings and Saturday. I think there is also a Tuesday morning run, although this seems to be mainly local Pro's/Ex Pros and semi Pro riders (well out of my league).

What do I need to know about CG's? Is it just a case of turning up and riding? From what I've seen CG's can range from 10 to 30+ riders.

Depending on the mix of the riders it can be a case of just hanging on the best you can to a well organised through and off.

Any advice on trying a CG?

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Generally you'll have all the skills you need from a year of club runs.
    Three things I would say:
    - You'll be riding harder and faster, so need to be clear with calling and giving signals, particularly in the dark.
    - When you come through to take the front, make sure you then ease off a touch to ensure that you match their pace as surging off the front can be frustrating for the rest of the group.
    - It is possible that you may get dropped so make sure you know the route home and/or start with the slower group to get your bearings and check you have the skills.
    Some clubs throw in a sprint here and there as well so stay alert!
  • bobmcstuff
    bobmcstuff Posts: 11,196