Front wheel rubbing

littlerose
littlerose Posts: 3
edited January 2016 in Workshop
Recently bought a road bike. I've never done any bike maintenance myself before, but took the wheels off to give it a good clean. The back wheel came off fine, but the front wheel was so tight it was a struggle (they're quick release).

Now when I put the front wheel back on, and close the brake release, the tyre won't move at all.

I've tried tightening/untightening the quick release to no avail.

It seems as though the brakes are too tight, but I haven't adjusted them at all since removing the wheel. When the brake release is open though, the wheel spins well and doesn't seem off centre.

Any thoughts? I can't decide if:

A) breaks are somehow too tight
B) wheel is somehow buckled - not sure what the signs of this would be
C) i haven't put the wheel on back properly

Help much appreciated!

Comments

• Recently bought a road bike. I've never done any bike maintenance myself before, but took the wheels off to give it a good clean. The back wheel came off fine, but the front wheel was so tight it was a struggle (they're quick release).

Now when I put the front wheel back on, and close the brake release, the tyre won't move at all.

I've tried tightening/untightening the quick release to no avail.

It seems as though the brakes are too tight, but I haven't adjusted them at all since removing the wheel. When the brake release is open though, the wheel spins well and doesn't seem off centre.

Any thoughts? I can't decide if:

A) breaks are somehow too tight
    B) wheel is somehow buckled - not sure what the signs of this would be
    C) i haven't put the wheel on back properly

Help much appreciated!

Brakes might have shifted when you took the wheel off - if that's the case then one brake block will be jammed against the wheel. Loosen the brake nut, close the brakes fully and then re tighten the nut - that will centre them.