How to get rid of slight bike grime from wooden floor

damocles10
damocles10 Posts: 340
edited January 2016 in The cake stop
I have been renting a flat for 8 years and over this period the place I park my bike has become a little dirty, not too much, but it's noticeable. The dirt is from the tyres after wet rides and seems to be embedded in to small grooves in the wooden floor.

What's the best way to clean it?

Thanks

Comments

• pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,728
    I used Cif cream the last time. But it wasn't long term ingrained.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • I used Cif cream the last time. But it wasn't long term ingrained.

Thanks PBakeney, I shall look in to that.
  • bbrap
    bbrap Posts: 610
    Pledge soapy wood cleaner seems to work well at drawing out ingrained muck and removing general dirt and dust.
    Rose Xeon CDX 3100, Ultegra Di2 disc (nice weather)
    Ribble Gran Fondo, Campagnolo Centaur (winter bike)
    Van Raam 'O' Pair
    Land Rover (really nasty weather :lol: )
  • tim_wand
    tim_wand Posts: 2,552
    Get some " Magic Squares " they are like a cross between Firelighters and Sponge. My Mrs works in Catering and brings them from work. They soak up Grease Oil like Well " Magic ". I use them on our Oak Flooring when I ve brought the bike into the Hall and its dropped Lube everywhere.

Can usually find them in Home Bargains or Pound land as well.

The other thing they are really good at is cleaning grease off my matt carbon Evo six, especially the White decaling.
  • capt_slog
    capt_slog Posts: 3,944
    Not relevant here perhaps, but I used to use swarfega for getting grease out of my mums carpet. This usually happened when i was working on my motorbike and managed to walk it into the house. :mrgreen:

The older I get, the better I was.