Help me choose the right gear.

northcliff66
northcliff66 Posts: 187
edited December 2015 in Vintage bikes forum
I am new to this sort of bike, so forgive me if these are stupid questions.

I have recently acquired this 1986 Raleigh.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pki4ye2sygxq6ur/File%2008-11-2015%2C%2017%2038%2017.jpeg?dl=0

From my research it seems it was built in the early part of the year, but only sold as a frameset and only in the USA.

In the past someone has clearly built it up. Seems to have a lot of things that are correct for the era, so may be original, but I really do not like the old 105 derailleurs and the universal brakes.

So, as the hubs, fork, dropouts, and seatpost are Campagnolo I was thinking of changing to that for the bits I need.

What models would be correct from the era, and where do I get them from please?

Comments

• andcp
    andcp Posts: 644
    Knock yourself out:
    http://www.retrobike.co.uk/gallery2/v/Manufacturer+Archive/Campagnolo+Archive/Campagnolo+Catalogues/

Ebay or Retrobike ads are probably the best bet for sourcing
    "It must be true, it's on the internet" - Winston Churchill
  • Thanks for the link.

I have decided to sell all the bits and pieces that are non Campag so will be listing them on ebay.

Not too sure about the frame. Actually it is in VGC. Could get it resprayed so would be like new with new decals, but unsure about its value. Its perfectly useable as is. Took it out for a spin yesterday and it is fast, light and absolutely silent. A quick spin of the wheels and they are still turning after I made a cup of tea. Must have been tuned by Sean Yates'z Dad!

TBH I wouldnt care about the cost if it was an ideal fit, but the geometry is not perfect for my aged inflexible spine. Might be easier to just get an old style frame built for "my geometry".

Rebuild project anyone?
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614