SRAM Wireless shifters.

MiniMalts
MiniMalts Posts: 266
edited December 2015 in Road general
If I'm reading this correctly you have to upgrade to SRAM crankset, bottom bracket, chain and cassette etc. Why? Surely they would work with any chain and cassette etc?

http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/latest-news/sram-red-etap-wireless-groupset-unveiled-188162

Comments

• Nah. At the end it talks about using it with existing red. So will work with force and rival. Limited to 28t though I understand
    My blog: http://www.roubaixcycling.cc (kit reviews and other musings)
    https://twitter.com/roubaixcc
    Facebook? No. Just say no.
  • Nah. At the end it talks about using it with existing red. So will work with force and rival. Limited to 28t though I understand

I'm still new to this, So if I wanted to fit this to my Ridgeback, or a touring bike I'm planning to buy it will work with standard components that are already fitted but limited to 28t. What is 28t?
  • "However if you want to upgrade your existing SRAM Red groupset, then you can just buy the electronic bits and pieces for £1,180.
    Read more at http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/latest-news/sram-red-etap-wireless-groupset-unveiled-188162#3ySYmvZT5oDiJkje.99"

I'd like to just buy the electronic bits and pieces and for it to work with my Shimano equipped bike. A grand I could justify if fitting it to a touring bike that comes equipped with Shimano, but to have to spend a further grand on SRAM Red groupset means the bike is getting rather expensive.

A chain is a chain, why change that? The cassette I could understand, but crank and bottom bracket? :?
  • 6wheels
    6wheels Posts: 411
    I believe they will be selling them as separate items,minimum would probably be levers and rear mech.But, I want even less, just the rear mech and a couple of TT buttons would do me.