Knee pain - Please help!

markiegrim
markiegrim Posts: 136
I am very disappointed in the way my knee is behaving

2013/2014 I was cycling 30-40 miles with no issues at all. Then at the beginning of this season I went out and did 40 miles. Maybe it was too much too soon, but towards the end of the ride I got some very nasty stabbing pains front of knee just below knee cap. These pains have plagued me all year, usually whenever I get to 30/35 miles

I saw a physio in September who suggested tight hamstrings might be pulling on my knee cap and causing tracking issues. She recommended some hamstring stretches twice per day which I have been doing religiously

I initially thought that these exercises were making a real difference as I started riding 40 miles again with much reduced discomfort. However, yesterday got stabbing pains front and below knee cap at just 20 miles. Ditto at a similar mileage 2 weeks ago. This issue is now worse than ever despite the hamstring stretching !!

Not sure what to do for the best. Should I perhaps stop cycling altogether for 2-3 months? Maybe in an attempt to get my knee back to a "stable state"?

Or is it maybe something different to tight hams? Some sites suggest other things (e.g. structural things like Patellofemoral Malalignment) that, apparently, can’t be treated with physio!!! Not a cheery prospect

I really don’t think it is bike set up as my knee was fine at these mileages in 2013/2014. My saddle has not slipped and is at right height

N.B. Some 20 years ago (and still) I got severe pain in same knee when walking down mountains (normal hills, stairs, etc are fine). A knee arthroscopy and MRI showed no issue…so maybe indicating it is some sort of tracking issue? Could be that the cycling and hiking knee issues are one and the same?

N.B. My left leg is a bit thinner than my right leg. I am slightly bow legged

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Comments

• jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062