Weight Difference for Wheels v Speed

blimzw
blimzw Posts: 17
edited November 2015 in Road general
Just a quick question! Im considering a new set of wheels - it is known that wheelset upgrades are the most impacting on ride quality and speed. This new wheelset is approx 350g lighter than my old one; same rim height and assuming same stiffness, and same hubs (both DT Swiss) - what will the impact on speed be? (I am a newbie and probably am making a ton of assumptions but just curious in the science / reasoning to help me make my first wheelset upgrade)

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Maybe a couple of seconds up a climb depending on its length.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Just a quick question! Im considering a new set of wheels - it is known that wheelset upgrades are the most impacting on ride quality and speed. This new wheelset is approx 350g lighter than my old one; same rim height and assuming same stiffness, and same hubs (both DT Swiss) - what will the impact on speed be? (I am a newbie and probably am making a ton of assumptions but just curious in the science / reasoning to help me make my first wheelset upgrade)

You may be disappointed with just how little difference something like this will make to your overall speed.