Advice for newbie with short legs

dong888
dong888 Posts: 11
edited November 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hi, I'm wondering whether anyone could help me please. I'm short at 5ft 6 and I have an inside leg of 28". I'm new to mountain biking so I though I'd opt for a 27.5 hardtail with good reviews, below £1000. This led me to two highly rated bikes, the 16" Boardman comp HT650b for £450 and the small Whyte 901 for £1000. I tried out the Boardman at Halfords and I could just about touch the floor with my toes when standing over the top tube. The riding position felt weird as I seemed to be upright on the bike (the handlebars too close). I haven't tried out a Whyte as I've checked the online sizing and the small has a standover height of 778mm which works out 2 inches too high. Could anyone offer any suggestions on any bikes that would be suitable for my size?

Cheers

Comments

• Not being dismissive but there's a sticky which tells you about stand over height. Start there first, Dude.
    Family, Friends, Fantastic trails - what else is there

viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12898838
    viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12897374
  • JodyP
    JodyP Posts: 193
    Not sure why you're on tip toes standing over the top tube, especially if its a small frame. You are almost the same size as me. Being small we're always going to have problems with knackers and top tube height. My Anthem is apparently 30.5" (small frame) but with an inside leg of 28" I still don't need to be on my toes. Might depend on what point of the tube it is measured from as they slope down to the seat tube. Best bet is to get out there and try a few.

P.S On most MTB's you will be sat in a fairly upright position. That can be altered slightly with different stem lengths/angles, handlebar rises etc
  • brianbee
    brianbee Posts: 330