rockrider 560 front wheel

Bushybaker
Bushybaker Posts: 3
edited November 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hi all, would like to thank everyone here first of all. I'm quite new to MTB's and was looking for a decent MTB, and after reading post from some of the users I decided to go with the rockrider 560. Such a good bike for £340 couldn't be more pleased.

Unfortunately after 1 day of use some scumbag has stolen the front wheel. I was hoping to get a like for like replacement as the rear still in perfect condition although I can't seem to find one so I've decided to come back here for some advice on what to do.

I've noticed allot of wheels come in sets rather than individually and while I feel comfortable fitting a front wheel/tyre/brake disc I don't think i'd be able to replace the rear properly due to the gear assembly.

So a few questions, is it a big deal getting a mismatched front/rear wheel (it doesn't need to be perfect)? Any suggestions on what wheel/tyre/brake disc to get?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• apreading
    apreading Posts: 4,535
    Its no big deal having different wheels, however you REALLY need to learn how to take the rear on/off as you will get a puncture at some point and need to do it to get home.

it would be a great opportunity to upgrade your wheels and lighten the bike - if you are not too heavy, I can recommend these: http://www.superstarcomponents.com/en/stans-switch-ultra-clearance-wheelset.htm (choose the stans crest 26" set) for £200 but that turns your £330 bike into a £530 one - an awesome one for the money still though!
  • larkim
    larkim Posts: 2,474
    I don't think he was afraid of taking the rear off for a puncture, I suspect he was more fearful of removing the cassette etc.

@bushybaker - have you tried Decathlon? They might be sympathetic, and they are bound to have to call in spare wheels from time to time when repairing customer bikes.
    2015 Canyon Nerve AL 6.0 (son #1's)