Best Wheels for Cervelo R3?

jplesca
jplesca Posts: 18
edited November 2015 in Road buying advice
Hello everyone!
I'm new to road bikeing as I traditionally mountain bike but I bought a Cervelo R3 and love it. I don't have much experience to wheels but from all the feedback it sounds like I should upgrade the Shimano R500 that come with the bike as they are around 1850 grams and mixed reviews are out there on reliability. So what would be a good 700C rim to go on there. I weigh 185 lb are around 84 kg. Also I do a fair bit of cycling in the hills where I live in Canada. Not racing but I want a versatile wheel for group rides that will stay reliable and stay true. what would you guys put on your bikes that is good for under $1000 CAD. I would go with hand builts but where I live there are not too many people who do it and again I'm not sure what would be the best.

Thank you!

Comments

• andcp
    andcp Posts: 644
    My 2 cents. I have these on my R3:

http://www.probikekit.ca/bicycle-wheels/shimano-rs81-c24-carbon-laminate-clincher-wheelset/10863919.html

Light enough, strong and no discernible flexing for me (78kgs, old, not that powerful) 5000 kms+ this year on them including climbs in the Pyrenees and Majorca
    "It must be true, it's on the internet" - Winston Churchill
  • Mr Dog
    Mr Dog Posts: 643
    RS81 are good wheels, have the same rim as the Dura Ace wheel, but get some swiss stop green pads as the rims wear relatively quickly. I use handbuilt carbon tubs on my Cervelo in the summer and Kysrium Elites in fall and spring. Given your weight they would be stiffer. For the cash you won't find a better factory wheel.. so much stronger than the RS81. As with all factory wheels bear in mind they are disposable, once the rim is gone you may as well bin them. I buy the Elites on sale. My current set are 3 years old and I have another set waiting in the wings. I take them to the mountains as they superb climbing wheels.