Carbon frame sticky or tacky

benjamin.e.grass
benjamin.e.grass Posts: 3
edited October 2015 in Road beginners
Hi everyone im new to cycling this season was my first season on the road. I bought a Argon 18 platinum used from a trusted local rider. I love the bike but no matter how many times I wash it my whole frame is sticky. To the point where if you touch it with a paper towel it clings. Any idea what it could be or what I could use to clean it off without damaging my frame Thanks in advance

Comments

• Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    Soap and water.
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ben_h_ppcc/
    Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/143173475@N05/
  • Ive used soap and water numerous times to clean my bike this season when its wet its not sticky but as soon as it dries its weird almost like someone sprayed something on my frame
  • fudgey
    fudgey Posts: 854
    You mean the whole frame is sticky or just parts?

Use isoproponol alcohol and a rag to wipe it down
    My winter bike is exactly the same as my summer bike,,, but dirty...
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    Hi everyone im new to cycling this season was my first season on the road. I bought a Argon 18 platinum used from a trusted local rider. I love the bike but no matter how many times I wash it my whole frame is sticky. To the point where if you touch it with a paper towel it clings. Any idea what it could be or what I could use to clean it off without damaging my frame Thanks in advance

Maybe the previous owner burst a gel or something over it and never bothered cleaning it properly? Alco wipes or WD40 on a cloth should remove it with a bit of effort.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • bbrap
    bbrap Posts: 610